Shri ND Jayal – Environmentalist, IAF pilot, Mountaineer, Bureaucrat, DOSCO..

The Himalaya Trust came into being in 1993 in response to the need expressed by a group of like minded grassroots social and environmental activists working in the Western Himalaya region, for an umbrella organisation to address critical issues of environmental degradation which has led to the increasing impoverishment of mountain communities.

It was agreed that the primary focus of the Trust’s work would be to strengthen grassroots institutions and energize village communities to rehabilitate their natural resources base by restoring the vegetative cover in micro-watersheds and taking action to replenish and enrich the natural biodiversity of the region.

The trust, therefore, sees its role as a catalyst and facilitating body to support grassroots initiatives which have a strong emphasis on capacity building and human resource development.

The Trust’s membership consists of village based groups or individuals in Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh, as well as scientists, professionals and concerned individuals.

The beginning years saw a spontaneous synergy between many social workers, resonating with the same concern for Himalayas – Nalni D Jayal , Indira Ramesh (her views on development), Sadan Mishra (interview), Devendra Bahuguna, Kusum Rawat and many others.

Board of Trustees

S. No. Name Address Designation Background Contact Details
1. Shri S. K. Das 234/2, Vasant Vihar, Dehradun 248006 Uttarakhand President Ex Chief Secretary, Uttarakhand Email:


2. Mr. Cyril R. Raphael 89/1, Vasant Vihar, Dehradun 248006 Uttarakhand Secretary Social Engineer for 40 years in Uttarakhand Email:


3. Dr. Satyendra Srivastav 478/1, Edenbagh, Lehman Hospital Road, Herbertpur, Dehradun 241248 Uttarakhand Treasurer MBBS, Community Health Consultant Email:


4. Ms. Indira Ramesh 273/2, Vasant Vihar, Dehradun 248006 Uttarakhand Executive Board Member Social Engineer and Documentation Specialist Email:


5. Mr. Sadan Mishra Vill – , Garur, Bageshwar, Uttarakhand Executive Board Member Sarvodayi Gandhian Social Worker Email:


6. Ms. Pushpa Chauhan Village – Ganeshpur, Block – Bhatwari, Uttarkashi Executive Board Member Social Activist and Pradhan, Ganeshpur Email:


7. Ms. Kusum Rawat 10-Utsav Vihar, Kanwali Road, Dehradun, Uttarakhand Executive Board Member MSc – Zoology and Gender Specialist Email:


Some International and national bodies have made references to our work:
Panos Oral testimony project (link)
Community Radio Initiative  (link1, link 2)

Here is the current team serving the Trust.